Click here to log in to our new customer account portal. Request returns easier (30 days still apply), update information, follow deliveries & easy, secure log-ins.

The Eagle of the Ninth, Rosemary Sutcliff | Book 1, The Roman Britain Trilogy - Alder & Alouette

The Eagle of the Ninth (The Roman Britain Trilogy, Book 1), Ages 10-14 yrs.

Regular price
Unit price  per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Rosemary Sutcliff's The Eagle of the Ninth is the classic story of a young Roman centurion sent out to recover the infamous Ninth Legion's missing symbol of honor. It is also Book One in The Roman Britain Trilogy.

The Ninth Legion marched into the mists of Northern Britain--and they were never seen again. Four thousand men disappeared and their eagle standard was lost. It's a mystery that's never been solved, until now . . .

Marcus Aquila has to find out what happened to his father, who led the Ninth Legion. So he sets out into the unknown, on a quest so dangerous that nobody expects him to return.

Great middle grade novel to add onto a Waldorf class 6 Roman unit of study or to Class 7 or Class 8 as an extender to what they learned in Class 6. Not really appropriate for Waldorf Class 5 Roman Unit, but reading level is rated for their age-range. 



  • The Eagle of the Ninth
  • Book One of The Roman Britain Trilogy
  • Written by Rosemary Sutcliff.
  • Published by Square Fish, November 9, 2010.
  • Ages 10 to 14 years
  • 0.7" H x 8.2" L x 5.4" W (0.5 lbs) 240 pages
  • Softcover Paperback
  • Nice book to read during the Class 6 unit of the Romans for Waldorf students
  • Not related to the Roman studies of Waldorf, Class 5