Happy New Year! Wishing you lots of joy and time to play in the new year.

Fairy Fables | Anniversary Edition | Louisa May Alcott | Children’s Books - Alder & Alouette

Flower Fables | Anniversary Edition | Louisa May Alcott

Regular price
Unit price  per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Flower Fables is a collection of illustrated fairy stories from Louisa May Alcott--the author who brought us Little Women.

Originally published in 1854, this collection of fables was inspired by Louisa's time spent in the woods around Walden Pond--a spot endearingly named Fairyland by Walden's own Henry David Thoreau. Young Louisa collected these fairy fables into a volume dedicated to her friend Ellen Emerson, the daughter of Ralph Waldo Emerson.

This volume--published under the title, Flower Fables--was Louisa's first published book. Applewood Books has partnered with Louisa May Alcott's Orchard House to publish this commemorative beautiful hardcover edition on the 150th anniversary of its first publication. This book is a reprinting of the 2005 Anniversary Edition. 


  • Flower Fables
  • Written by Louisa May Alcott.
  • Published by Applewood Books in conjunction with the Louisa May Alcott Orchard House.
  • Ages 9 to 12 years
  • 0.8" H x 6.86" L x 5.56" W (0.63 lbs) 210 pages
  • Hardcover